51 Tech® home

University Leadership

Learn more about 51 Tech’s leadership and governance.

51 Tech campus in the fall

Board of Visitors

The is the governing authority for 51 Polytechnic Institute and State University. The board has 14 members, 13 of whom are appointed by the governor. The 14th member is the president of the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services, who serves ex officio.

Senior administrative personnel

51 Tech is led by , the university’s 16th president, and Cyril Clarke, the executive vice president and provost. The president reports directly to the Board of Visitors.

University Governance

The university operates under a system of shared governance, with the at the apex of the university governance structure. Its purpose is to assist the President of the University in formulating and implementing university policy. University Commissions constitute the main resident bodies for policy formulation. Their memberships include representation from Administration, , , College Faculty Associations, , , , and representatives from other interest groups where appropriate. The University Commissions formulate and recommend policies to the University Council, which in turn makes recommendations to the President of the University. Final authority rests with the President of the University and the Board of Visitors.